Uh-mazing Gingerbread

img_6752

 

Nerd has been begging me to make gingerbread for months, so I was ecstatic when I found this recipe in December’s Cooking Light! 

  • 11.25  ounces  all-purpose flour (about 2 1/2 cups)
  • 2  teaspoons  baking soda
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  ground ginger (I used 1 t fresh shredded/squeezed ginger and 1/2 t ground)
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cinnamon
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  ground cloves
  • 1/2  cup  packed brown sugar
  • 1/4  cup  canola oil
  • 1  large egg
  • 2/3  cup  molasses
  • 1  (4-ounce) container unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2  cup  nonfat buttermilk
  • Cooking spray

Preparation

 

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 5 ingredients (through cloves) in a bowl, stirring well.

3. Combine sugar, oil, and egg in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until combined. Stir in molasses and applesauce.

4. Add flour mixture and buttermilk alternately to egg mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Spoon batter into a 9-inch square baking pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted into the center comes out clean.

5. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Cut into squares.

 

 

 

After all was baked and done, Nerd informs me that he was really wanting little men to bite the heads off of! I told him to suck it up and try it… AND he said it was “uh-mazing.”  Since he’s not to fond of sweets I typically end up eating whole pies and batches of cookies. This time, I sent up the rest of the bread to the engineering lab. Apparently I didn’t bake enough, because flogging commenced over the last piece! 

 

Happy Early Turkey Day!!

1 comment so far

  1. Kaci on

    I love love love your blog here lady. I’ve been looking for a good gingerbread recipe to make for Christmas and I think I’ve just found it! Even better that it’s a healthier version!


Leave a Reply

